Uncategorized

Weekly typings?

Well would ya look at that! It’s only been about half a year since my last entry! that must be a new record! huzzah!

How have things been for me you ask? Well, the best I can say is ‘Up and Down’. Just average day to day life that goes by. I’ve made sure to lock my car doors every day since February though! hahaha *sobs*

I believe in one of my last post’s that I said I was looking for a creative outlet. If not, that thought has been on my mind a heck of a lot more these days. Being out of school is probably the shittiest thing at this point. All you do is work and go home if you aren’t active in pursuing other interests/hobbies. Well why can’t I make this into a weekly exhibit? It’ll give me something to do and with any luck will keep my brain active and give me a small semblance of a schedule to keep. I’ll have to start taking notes on my phone of the things to write about that happen day to day. Lets start with the last 2 weeks shall we?

 

August 26 – 28th

Even before this weekend started I knew it was gonna be a busy one. The end of August usually brings last minute hangouts to fruition, end of summer parties and a stockpile of reserve photo’s on many a iPhone/Android camera’s to post later in the year amidst the procrastination of studying for a quick #tbt on Instagram and a confidence boost. And I was no exception to this rule (not that I mind in the slightest).

This was the first weekend in a VERY long time where every day was filled with something. Friday I was heading into Toronto aka the 6ix to see Ninja Sex Party in all of their sexual glory. Man what a fantastic show it was! The energy from the crowd was unlike anything I’ve experienced in my MANY years of concerts. I sincerely hope they come back again, because I am definitely going early to get the front spot in line.

Due to a scheduling issue, Sara was unfortunately not able to come with me Friday to the NSP show, and had to work 3 to 11pm. Why is that even bothered being mentioned you ask? Because the next day I was supposed to meet up with a friend in Toronto and chill for the day basically on a layover until Sunday when I was heading up to Barrie for a surprise birthday party. So after the concert, we drudged our tired bodies and hoarse throats (that may have just been me) to the car to drive all the way back to good ol’ London. I think it’s worth mentioning that I had been awake since 4:4am on Friday and we got back at 3:30am Saturday. So quite the long day indeed! Anywhozer, once the next day ‘began’, I dragged what was the physical remains of my meat sack out of bed and began prepping myself for the drive BACK into Toronto. Anyone who has driven the 401 knows that this drive can instill not fear, but a sense of ‘UGH GOD DAMNIT’ into anyone with a drivers license. And being as exhausted as I was, you can safely bet this was the most accurate thing I could be feeling at the time. Begrudgingly, I freshened up and packed my stuff into my trusty Carmen and set sail for Toronto for the 2nd time in a weekend. Not surprisingly the Saturday drive up was much more irritating. Three accidents and many a people driving under the speed limit later we made it to our destination. That night was a comedy filled night at a local random bar near The Danforth featuring some very talented and funny improv artists from the area (Also worth mentioning the best samosa’s I’ve ever had from a random hole-in-the-wall Indian restaurant we saw on the way to the bar).

With Saturday coming to a close, I made an unfortunate decision to call it a night early (not before the comedy was over mind you) to head back to my friends place just to catch up on some much needed Z’s before the trek up to Barrie tomorrow. I really wanted to explore and just wander T-Dot some more but alas, my body was craving some sleep.

Sunday morning we had a small breakfast and went out for Korean BBQ (so good) before running a few errands to finish up our surprise birthday agenda. Once everything had been sorted, Sara and I hiked up to the GreenP parking lot where we had to leave Carmen and were on our way up to Barrie.

DEAR LORD SO MANY PEOPLE HEADING SOUTH ON THE 400 

It was absolutely insane. Backed up for MILES. MILES I TELL YOU!! I’m fairly certain it was backed up a good 3/4 of the trip to Barrie. Not gonna lie, seeing traffic this congested made me super uncomfortable about the thought of heading back because we left around 3pm as it was. Once we got to our destination to meet up with Sabrina  (two missed exits later) we went for a great dinner near Barrie’s waterfront and caught up. I hate having friends so far away, especially your good friends at that.

Once dinner was over, we hopped back into Carmen and began our southbound journey with all the city campers back into Toronto to pick up our aforementioned friend we stayed with Saturday night. We had arranged to take them back to London with us to save them the money it would have cost for a train ticket. Another late journey with a wake-up call around 4:45 am for us was in store! We managed to hit London and get home around 12:30am.

Sleep was a rarity this weekend. And boy did it catch up to me at work. Here’s a random fact, I don’t particularly feel like I need coffee to function as an adult. Every once in a while I will have a cup because lets face it, coffee is warm and inviting and pretty soul healing when you apply it in all the right situations (rainy day, windows open for me!). However, this day after such an amazing weekend was an exception. I definitely needed that coffee. There was absolutely no way I could survive without it. Probably the most tired I’ve felt in quite some time and I would like to avoid said feeling in the near future if I could.

 

I think I’ll call it a night for typing right here. Man, how did I managed to type over 1100 words? and by the random chance that someone may read it, how did you manage to read over 1100 of my words? This always seemed like such a task in High School/College.

Next entry will be about my most recent vacation (that happened just one week later from this entry no less!) to Seattle for Penny Arcade Expo! What a beautiful city Seattle is.

Take it easy!

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

