Uncategorized

Photo Challenge: Resilient

15817796_10157928601825007_1918921522_o

This is the first ever Starbucks.I took this photo back in September when I was visiting Seattle, WA.

For those who don’t know, I was a 3 year barista at Starbucks. This job, while at times can be tedious, was one of the best jobs I’ve ever had.

Starbucks started its journey in Pike Market back in 1971, just a simple store selling spices, coffee and tea. When you walk into this store, seemingly nothing has changed since it opened. The desks are scratched to high heaven from over 30 years of inventory being moved around. Original wooden counter tops don’t even get some TLC that they deserve. No expansions into other adjacent properties, no modern face lifts, nothing. Just the simplicity of when the store first opened. It doesn’t feel like a ‘Starbucks’ if that makes sense, it feels like an old ‘Ma and ‘Pa coffee shop you would find off the beaten trail of Route 66. And that’s what makes you fall in love with it even more.

If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. A true sign of being resilient.

via Photo Challenge: Resilient

 

Standard

4 thoughts on “Photo Challenge: Resilient

  1. idontknowcookbook says:

    I love Starbucks. But it brakes my heart to pay $5 for a cup of coffee. But it is sooooo gooood 😉 so I but it anyways.

    • I didn’t drink a lick of coffee before I started working there. I still only drink it out of necessity so it always works when I need it to. But It certainly opened my eyes to the specialty coffee world! Also, their drip coffee is usually around $2~, It’s only latte’s that push the prices up higher, and that is just to offset the cost of the milk!

Leave a Reply

