Uncategorized

Grief and those who are gone

I never understood grief until my twenties. If only the rest of us could be so lucky right?

The sudden passing of my grandpa was my first dance with the reality of death. A diagnosis in August, gone by November. I find it amazing what we can do when we apply ourselves, and the harsh physical punishment we can endure all while being so fragile. The human body is one of the worlds most intriguing machines. I hope to study it more.

My second dance came during last years May 2-4 weekend. My former boss/friend passed in a tragic home accident. While it didn’t quite hit me all at once, the outpouring of love and support threw me over the edge. I have never refreshed a Facebook page so often. I was awake by 6:30am, got the news around 7:05am. Had my battery drained by 9am. I just kept refreshing, hoping this news wasn’t true. But all I could do was accept the fact that she was gone.

The feeling never goes away, but you do learn to live with it. There hasn’t been a day that goes by where I don’t think of either of them. To the people out there who have lost people much closer, I wish nothing but the easing of feelings on  your heart.

I’ll make a more positive/happy entry tomorrow.

Brian.

via Daily Prompt: Gone

Standard

One thought on “Grief and those who are gone

Leave a Reply

